Buying My First Console – Is A PS4 Right For You?

I’m seriously considering buying a Playstation 4, which would technically be my first console purchase ever. Before getting into the specifics, let’s first discuss my history with consoles and console gaming. My first console that I ever owned was the Playstation 2 (unless you’re counting PCs as consoles, but that would kind of defeat the point of this article.), which was gifted to me from my aunt, as she had won it from a raffle at her previous job. I loved the Playstation 2, like most people, because of its stellar library of games, which range from mindless fun to truly innovative creative visions. There are plenty of strong arguments for the Playstation 2 being the best console of all time and I’m really glad that it was my first exposure to playing console games in my own home.

130720-SotC1

My second experience in console ownership involved my best friend Jon allowing me to borrow his Xbox 360 to play fighting games. He is the kind of guy who enjoys buying and updating his gaming collection more than actually playing it, so it made sense that he would allow me to borrow his gear, since he only really used it when we were together. After almost a year never asking for it back, Jon surprised me by giving me his Xbox 360 as a gift. Does this sound familiar? At about this time I was getting more and more into the fighting game community, so I did my best to expand my library with the best fighting games for the Xbox 360, which, more often than not, also happened to not be console exclusive. I even purchased a few non-fighting games, including Red Dead Redemption, Vanquish and Kingdom of Amalur. My main reason for focusing so much on my Xbox 360 was that my computer was getting older and struggled to play a majority of my steam library.

71uQYNKiKCL._SL1500_

Now it is 2014  and the Playstation 4 and Xbox One have been on the market for quite some time now. New games are on the horizon and older games that I haven’t played yet continue to tickle my interest, which brings me to why I would want to purchase a Playstation 4 over an Xbox One or a Playstation 3. As I previously mentioned, I’m very interested in fighting games, so it makes perfect sense that the newest release in the Guilty Gear series, Guilty Gear Xrd, is on my radar. Although Xrd will be released on both the Playstation 3 & 4, a large purchase like a main generation console brings with it at least partially the intention of future-proofing one’s gaming library; aPlaystation 3 might be cheaper, but it is incredibly limited, both in hardware and software, compared to its younger brother.

258801-GG1

 

The next game that comes to mind, in terms of which iteration of the Playstation I should purchase, is The Last Of Us. Luckily, a remastered version is being released on the Playstation 4, which nullifies any possible advantage the Playstation 3 might have in that regard. Lastly, ever since being forced to use it at a fighting game tournament, I have fallen in love with the Playstation 4 controller. I know it sounds a little strange to base one’s opinion of a console on the controller, but you have to consider that the controller is the one piece of equipment that you interact with the most; the user interface may be updated and the game library may expand, but the console stays relatively the same (unless you own a Wii). All of my problems with the Playstation 2 & 3 controllers seem to have been fixed with the newest version. The analog sticks feel much more smooth, the controller fits well in my hands and the touch screen seem quite useful, albeit a bit gimmicky. It also helps the Playstation 4’s case that the Xbox One’s controller seems like a clunky piece of junk in comparison.

Hopefully the Playstation 4 can fulfill all of my console needs in the future and rekindle some of those nostalgic feelings of my past experiences with Sony consoles. The Last Of Us: Remastered, Guilty Gear Xrd and Assassin’s Creed: Blackflag are on my list for games to get into, but I’m also confident that further releases will peak my interest as well, as I prefer Playstation console exclusive products over Microsoft’s in general and I know that any multi-platform games I’m interested in will be available to me, as well.

Leave a Reply

